What this exact variant is
| Device | Galaxy S23 |
|---|---|
| Model number | SCG19 |
| Original sales channel | au |
| Release date | 2023-04-20 |
| SIM / eSIM | Not stated in the carrier frequency table; verify on the exact model specification page. |
| LTE bands | B28 / B18 / B26 / B19 / B8 / B21 / B3 / B1 / B41 / B42 |
| 5G bands | n28 / n3 / n1 / n41 / n77 / n78 / n79 / n257 |
| VoLTE / IMS | Voice support is based on the original selling carrier. On another carrier, verify VoLTE/IMS separately from band overlap. |
| FeliCa | Not stated in the carrier frequency table; verify on the exact model specification page. |
This page evaluates the exact sales variant, not only the marketing name. A Japan carrier model, manufacturer SIM-free model and overseas model can differ in SIM layout, supported radio bands, FeliCa and carrier provisioning behavior.
Compatibility across Japan's four major carriers
| Target network | SolQvia rating | Basis | Important boundary |
|---|---|---|---|
| NTT Docomo | Major-band fit | Technical evaluation based on key LTE-band coverage | B19/B21 present。n79 present。Verify VoLTE/IMS and target-carrier support separately |
| au | Strongest fit | Original selling carrier | See the Japanese source record for the exact wording. Technical markers: B18 B26 n77 n78. |
| SoftBank | Major-band fit | Technical evaluation based on key LTE-band coverage | B8 present。n77 present。Verify VoLTE/IMS and target-carrier support separately |
| Rakuten Mobile | Major-band fit | Technical evaluation based on key LTE-band coverage | B3 present。n77 present。Verify VoLTE/IMS and target-carrier support separately |
Rating meaning: “Strongest fit” generally indicates the original selling carrier or direct primary-source support. “Major-band fit” means key radio bands are present, but it does not prove VoLTE/IMS, SMS, emergency calling, carrier aggregation, 5G SA or support eligibility.
Safe order when moving this phone to another carrier
- Confirm the model number. Check Settings/About or the regulatory label. Do not rely on the product name alone.
- Confirm the SIM path. Verify physical SIM versus eSIM support before ordering or reissuing a line.
- Check the target carrier's key LTE bands. Missing a low-band coverage layer can affect indoor and rural usability even if service connects in some locations.
- Provision the line. For eSIM, add and enable the carrier-issued profile first. APN values are not eSIM activation credentials.
- Check data, voice and SMS separately. Data working does not prove VoLTE/IMS voice support.
- Check 5G last. Verify n77/n78/n79, plan eligibility, coverage and NSA/SA conditions after LTE is stable.
Japan vs overseas model boundary
See the Japanese source record for the exact wording. Technical markers: SIM SIM eSIM VoLTE IMS.
When importing or reusing an overseas model in Japan, also verify the exact regional model, Japan regulatory compliance/technical conformity, emergency-call behavior and carrier support. Do not infer these from a visually identical model sold in another market.
Primary and official sources
- www.docomo.ne.jp
- www.au.com
- www.softbank.jp
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp
- www.au.com
- schema.org
- solqvia.com
- solqvia.com
- solqvia.com
- solqvia.com
- solqvia.com
- solqvia.com
- solqvia.com
- www.au.com
Carrier procedures and product specifications can change. Re-check the current official page immediately before a SIM/eSIM migration, MNP request, purchase or imported-device use.
